Skip to content

I’m Sorry I Couldn’t Save You

July 16, 2019

I’m Sorry I Couldn’t Save You

 

I had a dream about you last night.

I dreamt of your face.

Gazing up at me.

Sweet smile and beautiful eyes.

Smiling up at me.

And I couldn’t save you.

 

I dreamed I tried so hard.

I asked you to come with me.

But you wouldn’t come.

Trusting face and open heart.

I couldn’t persuade you.

And I couldn’t save you.

 

I knew it would not be safe for you.

I knew you would succumb.

So loving but so tortured.

Heart so flayed and clean.

Torn by your youth and truth.

You thought you’d disappointed.

And I couldn’t save you.

 

I pulled you up to move you with me.

But you stayed and laughed.

Preferring to disappear inside.

I loved you and couldn’t stop you.

You chose the needle oblivion.

My friend who couldn’t love himself.

And I couldn’t save you.

 

I’m sorry I couldn’t save you.

I dreamed of you and tried.

But you could not step outside your pain.

I dreamed of you and cried.

Your pain overruled everyone.

Your pain hid love from your soul.

And I couldn’t save you.

 

© Tina Price-Johnson

28.01.2016

Written in memory of a friend who passed long ago, and whom I think about often.  Addiction is a symptom, the cause of which is varied, but as long as causes are not addressed, the disease will prosper. In memory of NP.

From → Poetry

2 Comments
  1. Great post 🙂

Leave a comment